duck key

An Information Guide to Duck Key in the Florida Keys
























Archives : Rules for Operation of Golf Cart in "Golf Cart Communities"


Section 316.212, Florida Statutes, generally prohibits the operation of golf carts upon public streets or roads, except upon those designated by a county or city for use by golf carts.

The Commissioners of Monroe County have voted to designate Duck Key a "golf Cart community"

The county is responsible for making the determination that golf carts may safely travel on or cross the public street or road, after considering the speed, volume, and character of the motor vehicle traffic using the street or road.


The operation of a golf cart is limited to the conditions set forth below:

 Persons operating a golf cart in accordance with section 316.212, Florida Statutes, are exempt from the requirement of a driver's license.

 State law prohibits the operation of a golf cart on public roads or streets by any person under the age of fourteen.

 Golf carts may only be operated during the hours between sunrise and sunset.

 Golf carts must be equipped with efficient brakes, reliable steering apparatus, safe tires, a rearview mirror, and red reflectorized warning devices in both the front and rear.


Low-speed vehicle

"Golf cart" means a motor vehicle that is designed and manufactured for operation on a golf course for sporting or recreational purposes and that is not capable of exceeding speeds of 20 miles per hour.


"Low-speed vehicle" means any four-wheeled electric vehicle whose top speed is greater than 20 miles per hour but not greater than 25 miles per hour, including neighborhood electric vehicles. Low-speed vehicles must comply with the safety standards in 49 C.F.R. 571.500 and s. 316.2122.

(1) A low-speed vehicle may be operated only on streets where the posted speed limit is 35 miles per hour or less. This does not prohibit a low-speed vehicle from crossing a road or street at an intersection where the road or street has a posted speed limit of more than 35 miles per hour.

(2) A low-speed vehicle must be equipped with headlamps, stop lamps, turn signal lamps, taillamps, reflex reflectors, parking brakes, rearview mirrors, windshields, seat belts, and vehicle identification numbers.

(3) A low-speed vehicle must be registered and insured in accordance with s. 320.02.

(4) Any person operating a low-speed vehicle must have in his or her possession a valid driver's license.






Back to [ Website Index] [ Archive Index ] [ Main Community Index ]